Skip to main content


The Nobel Prize in Literature 2015

By Lydia Barsawme

…is awarded to Svetlana Alexievich, an impressive author and very worthy winner!

The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2015 is awarded to the Belarusian author Svetlana Alexievich, “for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time”.

You must consent to third-party cookies to view this content.

She is  the first journalist to be awarded the prize and only the 14th woman out of a total of 112 winners.

Alexievich writes in a genre that can be described as a mix between documentary reportage and fiction – she writes about actual facts and events, but she does so in a beautiful and poetic way.

Her best-known works include “Voices From Chernobyl”, about the 1986 nuclear catastrophe, “Boys In Zinc”, a collection of accounts from the Soviet-Afghan war and “The War’s Unwomanly Face” about Soviet women in World War II.

Although her books contain stories of unimaginable horrors and experiences, they’re well worth your time (and maybe your tears). You might see the world in a slightly different way afterwards, you will definitely learn things, and, if nothing else, you will experience some amazing writing.  

Some of her books will soon be available in the school library.

Click here for more information about Svetlana Alexievich!

Guest blogger School Secretary Ms Kruusmägi


Truly international.
Outstanding teachers.
Safe environment.
Thanks to our international atmosphere we have a vibrant and supportive school community, where we believe that a student’s well-being is necessary for effective learning. We strive at all times to provide a safe and supportive, as well as an academically challenging, environment in which to study. Learn more ...